Consequences of Driving Without a License in Virginia:
- A first violation of this statute is a class 2 misdemeanor, a second violation is a class 1 misdemeanor
- 6 demerit points on driving record (11 years) – The DMV will suspend a driver's license if he/she gathers more then 18 points over a 12 month period, or
- 24 points over 24 months. § 46.2-506
- Possibility of increase in insurance rate
- Additional suspension
- Possible fine
- Realistic possibility of jail time if 2nd+ conviction
Driving Without a License Statute:
Code of Virginia § 46.2-300 is Virginia's driving without a license statute. It provides in part that:
No person… shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver's license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver's license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person's privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
As a Charlottesville driving without a license attorney, depending on the specific set of facts of your case I may be able to help you: (1) have your charge dismissed, (2) obtain a not guilty verdict, (3) obtain a less serious charge than the original charge, or (4) obtain an agreement with the Commonwealth which will minimize the negative impact a conviction may have. Please call at 434-979-0308 or use the contact form.